Shanny “Mayhem” Howard

 

Shanny “Mayhem” Howard12380167_1055242737840105_2063141271_n

Name: Shanny “Mayhem” Howard Weight: 60-63.5kg Age: 29 Country: Australia Gym: Vikings Muay Thai Fight Record: 7 Fights 6 Wins 1 Loss

1: How long have you been training Muay Thai and why did you become a fighter?

I have been training just over a year. I first started training just for fitness but it was my Trainer Robbie Tidyman who suggested I should give fighting a go. So I started training in the fight classes and before I knew it I was having my first fight.

12386599_1055242774506768_2019970960_n2: What has been your biggest challenge as a fighter?

My biggest challenge so far would be dealing with being centre of attention in front of big crowds. The nerves before making the walk to the ring are huge for me. Once I am in the ring and touch gloves it all goes away it’s like nothing matters but just before walking out I have to control my nerves. I would much rather fight with no crowds, just myself my trainer & my opponent. But I am learning to deal with it and I am getting better slowly.

3: What drives you?10647818_1055242487840130_1311929338_n

When I first started I was the only female at the gym, I felt like I had to prove to myself to the other fighters. This only gave me more of a drive to never give up and be the best I could be plus also to beat the boy’s hahaha.

4: If you could fight on any promotion in the world what would it be and why?

I think anywhere in Thailand would be absolutely amazing but Lumpinee Stadium would defiantly have to be number 1. Just to be able to fight & show my skills in the home land of Muay Thai would be a blessing.

5: What is your favourite part of training?

12380551_1055242771173435_122339155_nI love everything about training from wrapping my hands to stretching down. To be able to push myself to the max, I just love it. Having everyone at the gym see me not giving up pushes them, which then pushes me even more.

6: How would you describe yourself as a fighter?

I am defiantly a front foot fighter, I want to be the one pushing the pace & making my opponents game plan go out the window. I have been told that I hit with “Man Power” which is quite rare for a female. But overall I am still so new to the sport, and have so much more to learn.

12398931_1055242114506834_1477358743_n7: What are 3 things people might not know about you……

I really enjoy cooking and baking which can be very bad when having to prepare and lose weight before a fight lol. I am a massive sucker for Christmas movies it doesn’t matter if they are kids, adults or the cheesiest movie out I could watch them over and over again, there awesome I love them. I am absolutely petrified of Grasshoppers & Toads. When I see them I freeze up & just go to mush. It can be very embarrassing to see how a child can pick it up & get rid of it for me while I scream and cry like a baby until it is gone.

8: Do you have any embarrassing fight or training moments?

Oh god well now this is embarrassing. It was my first demo fight & I just climbed over the top ropes & it gave me the biggest wedgie. I had to get my trainer to pick it out for me, everyone in the front row was laughing. I don’t know who was more embarrassed myself or Robbie but yes it was very embarrassing.

9: What are your fight plans for 2016?10428976_1055242691173443_1493591172_n

I am planning on it being be a big year for me. I recently tried out for the Amateur Australian Muay Thai Team & I was very lucky enough to come away with a gold medal and an invitation to represent Australia in Sweden in May 2016. I am also planning to have around 10 fights throughout the year in Muay Thai & Boxing. Maybe even a Title Fight.

10: Any advice for anyone wanting to give fighting a go?

Fighting is not for everyone you either love it or hate it. It’s not easy but it is very rewarding to see all your hard work payoff it is a great feeling. You also have to have complete trust in your trainer that they are matching you with an equal opponent, and the number one thing is to have belief in yourself. You will never know unless you give it a go, at the end of the day you only get out what you put in.

Anyone you would like to Thank:

I would like to say a big Thank You to Robbie Tidyman and Will Currie for believing in me 12399188_1055242434506802_2085458855_nand pushing me to my limits. Everyone from my Vikings Family you guys inspire me to give it my all every day I am very grateful. My family and friends for coming to watch and cheer me on even though my mum watches through her fingers most times but still travels to support me. A Big Thank you to my sponsors “Team Lion Heart Mongkons” Glenn Heart you have been amazing with promoting me and getting my name out there. Also for my beloved prajas. Last but not least Nutrition Warehouse for supplying me with all my nutritional needs at a great price.

My Page: https://www.facebook.com/Shanny-Mayhem-Howard-954572391240474/

Nutrition Warehouse: https://www.facebook.com/nutritionwarehouse/?fref=ts https://www.nutritionwarehouse.com.au/

Team Lion Heart Mongkons: https://www.facebook.com/LionHeartMongonk/?fref=nf

Vikings Muay Thai: https://www.facebook.com/Vikings-Muay-Thai-HQ-156043824590206/

 

Interview By Natasha Sky Feb 2016, photos supplied

Follow my fighter blog, interviews and fighting journey (HERE)

 

 

Leave a Reply

