Kelsie”Pitbull” Thompson

Kelsie Thompson12348216_760095024121089_343203904_n

Name: Kelsie Thompson Age: 16 Country: Australia Gym: Kaos Muay Thai gym Weight: 58-60 Fight record: 9f 4w 5l

1. How long have you been training Muay Thai and why did you become a fighter? I have been training in martial arts for 6 years and Muay Thai for 3 years. I had competed in amateur tournaments before I stepped into the ring for the first time in 2013 and didn’t know what to expect. My trainer Michael Reberger asked if I wanted to jump I the ring and give it a go. The training for the fight was nothing like I had experienced and ever since then I’ve loved the adrenalin and feeling fighting gives me.

2. What has been your biggest challenge as a fighter? My biggest challenge as a fighter would have to be balancing work, school work and training all at once. Somehow I manage to do all three and still get average grades and go to every single training session 5 nights a week.

12355100_760095004121091_283007736_n3. What drives you? What drives me is the fact that my opponent is training just as hard as me and wants to win just as bad as me and it makes me determined to train as hard as I can.

4. If you could fight on any promotion in the world what would it be and why? I would love to fight on Rebellion one day as it seems like such a professional show and the skill level shown from all the fighters that do get a chance to fight on it are incredible.

5. What is your favourite part of training? My favourite part of training would definitely have to be hitting the pads and the satisfaction of going home at the end of training and not being able to feel my body because I smashed that training session

6. How would you describe your self as a fighter? I would describe myself as aggressive when I need to be and coming forward at my opponent, hence the name pitbull

7. What are 3 things people might not know about you.. 1. I love the beach 2. I read way 12336125_760095074121084_1709469429_ntoo much 3. I have a twin sister (not identical though)

8. Do you have any embarrassing fight or training moments? Whenever I hop out of the ring and walk down the stairs to go to the back room I always swing my arms like a cowboy because if I don’t I will probably fall off the stairs and that would not be a fun time

9. What are your fight plans for this year? I have 2 possible fights in February and after that whatever my trainer had lined up for me, I haven’t had a fight since August so I’m keen to get back into the ring 10. Any advise for anyone wanting to give fighting a go? I say make sure you train hard and just get in their and give it a go, at the end of the day whether you win or lose it is a big feat getting in the ring and fighting another person

12312339_760095067454418_1144778708_nAnyone you would like to thank? I would like to thank my family for always supporting me and my desicions, I’d also like to thank my trainers Michael Reberger and Mark Ward for always pushing me to my limits at training and never giving up on me.

Athlete page (HERE)

Interview by Natasha Sky Feb 2016, Photos supplied

Follow my blogs, interviews and fighter journey (HERE)

 

Leave a Reply

