Alicia Pestana World Champion

Alicia Pestana883453_868695156475596_3443348325783254861_o

Name: Alicia Pestana
Age:28
Weight: 55kg
Gym: Riddlers Gym
Fight Record:20w 10L 3D
Titles: WKA state,2x  WKA Aust, WKA south pacific, 2x WKA World Title all featherweight, WMC State featherweight

1. How long have you been training Muay Thai and what made you want to become a fighter? I’ve been training in Muay Thai for 13 years. I’ve always liked a challenge and being competitive I knew I wanted to push myself outside my comfort zone both physically and mentally and knew from that I wanted to have my first fight.  I also wanted to put my training into practice.

2. What has been the biggest challenge of being a fighter?
Trying to find time to have a social life and to make time for others.

1186039_10151610743403575_1416602135_n3. What has been you’re proudest moment?
Proudest moment would be winning my first fight and winning my first state title fight as I thought I would never be able to fight for one. Winning the WKA world title would have to be another as well.

4. List 3 things that people dont know about you? I hate swimming at the beach (I’m afraid of sharks),  I pray every day, I have a weakness for donuts

5. If you could fight on any promotion in the world what would it be and why?
I don’t have preference any fight anywhere is good to me.

6. What is the most important thing to remember as a fighter?
Make sure that your 100% physically and mentally ready. Make sure you have the heart alicia-pestana-vs-gentiane-lupi-22-08-14and dedication it takes. Never let a bad training session or a loss hold you back.

7. You have just come back from a big break, how has it been getting back in to the swing of things?
At the start getting back into it, it was hard as your always unfit so everything seems just that little bit harder. But I never got dishearten as I knew this is what I wanted to do and had to keep at it to get fight fit again.

8. What are your plans for the rest of 2014, do you have any fights lined up?
My next couple of fights lined up this year is against Sam Brown in Qld in Nov 8th for the WBKF South Pacific Title then back to NZ in December for a supa 4..

10562550_10152310533248027_807669106737242161_o9. What is your favourite thing about being a fighter?
My favourite thing about being a fighter is simple I get to fight. There’s nothing more exciting about stepping into that ring to perform.

10. Any advise for anyone wanting to become a fighter?
My advice for any aspiring fighters is make sure that you know 110% that you are ready to fight and this is what you want to do. Fighting is not a sport to be 50/50 about. Make sure you have the heart and dedication it takes. Once you know this you will achieve great things in and outside of the sport while having fun doing it. There will be tough times but stay true to your heart and never give up

Anyone you would like to Thank?
Thanks to my new sponsor Fighters Choice there amazing.10603894_10152310522838027_7855787773372472536_o
Thanks to Darren Reece and everyone at Riddlers gym for there support.
Big Thanks to all my Family and friends for always supporting me no matter what.

Riddlers Gym (HERE)
Fighters choice (HERE)

Interview By Natasha Sky, Oct 2014, Photos from Facebook

Follow My Blogs, Interviews and journey (HERE)

Leave a Reply

