Tania Swindley From Australia

Tania Swindley1147082_692129007471165_1427778199_o

Name:Tania Swindley Age: 36 Weight: 59-63kg. Prefer 60kg Gym: Boonchu Fight Record: Won 5 Lost 3. 1 tko

1. How long have you been training Muay Thai and what made you want to become a fighter? Five years. I didn’t plan to be a fighter but after training in Muay Thai for a while I was encouraged to get in the ring.

2. What has been your biggest challenge as a fighter? My age. I started very late and am now 36. That also means juggling training with looking after 3 children and having other obligations. Training through tiredness and not letting it get you down is a challenge for me.

10337752_885631624787568_6811155274672562661_n3. How do your Family and Friends feel about you fighting? They like me doing it, but get a bit nervous just before fights. They can appreciate it as a sport, not just fighting.

4. What has been the Highlight of your Fighting so far? I’ve enjoyed all my fights. My highlight would probably be fighting Minnie Anderson for a Qld title. Although I lost it was an excellent fight against a quality opponent.

5. If you could pull of any technique in a fight you haven’t yet pulled off what would it be? Roundhouse headkick, it would look great but I never seem to get the opportunity. Spinning backheel also.

6. How would you describe your self as a fighter? I feel like a technical fighter but I am still inexperienced in the ring and tend to be aggressive and rush into a full on battle.

7. Do you have any special things you have to do on fight day? I don’t have any LAST_B_1_442_F8special rituals on fight day but I do like homemade pizza the night before.

8. What is your favorite thing about being a fighter? I enjoy the fitness, the camaraderie of my Boonchu team and I also like to force myself out of my comfort zone.

9. If you could fight on any promotion what would it be and why? Any Boonchu promotion of course!

10443649_888902684460462_3764504336050394849_n10. Any advise for anyone wanting to become a fighter? Join a good gym and don’t be disheartened if it seems difficult. Good things take time and practice. You also never stop learning new things.

Anyone you would like to Thank?  I would thank my trainers Angie and Wayne Parr and Adrian Ormrod.

Interview By Natasha Sky, Sept 2014, Photos from Facebook

Please follow my other female fighter interviews and blogs on my Fight page (HERE)

Leave a Reply

