Kaylee Doyle From Australia

Kaylee Doyle10003521_10151943549432038_1847453929_n

Australia

Name: Kaylee Doyle
Age: 23
Weight: 54 – 56kg
Gym: Corporate Box Gym
Fight record: 8 Fights 3W 5L

1. How long have you been training Muay Thai and what made you want to become a fighter?

I have been training for nearly three years now and had my first fight within the first three months. My partner, Josh, was the one who introduced me to Muay Thai. He would spend three hours a day, six days a week, in the gym and I could never understand why he enjoyed it so much. Until he asked me to come try it. I was instantly hooked! I was there every single day, for three hours at a time. He took me to a fight show one night, just after I started training, to watch a 4-woman eliminator. After seeing those girls kick and punch the hell out of each other, I knew that was where I wanted to be. I wanted to be in that ring, putting all my hard training to work.

10390007_10152089261482038_2550209233363750172_n2. What has been your biggest challenge as a fighter?

Definitely the mental aspect of fighting. My first three fights were all losses. Experiencing this made me question whether I was good enough to keep competing, or if I should just give up on it… I felt like I was letting everyone down. My gym, my partner, my friends, my family, but worst of all, myself. However now I am grateful that my fight career started with those losses because it made me realize that Muay Thai is something that I truly love. Something that I am passionate about. I have seen so many people give up after only one loss. I’ve seen it break them. And I am determined to never let that happen to me. Losing only means that you have more to work on and I believe that the way I started my career, with such disappointment and doubt, has just made me a stronger fighter today.

3. How do your Family and Friends feel about you fighting?

They all love it! My family have always supported me 100% and for that I am so grateful. It’s nice to know that the people you love, are all there backing you up. This sport has also introduced me to some amazing people who are not just friends to me, but have also become family.

4. What has been the Highlight of your Fighting so far?10389666_10152043566217038_8840632188548458013_n

Everything! Every single day at training is a highlight, every fight is a highlight. Every minute of my time that I put into this sport, is the best minute of my life. Muay Thai and the people involved have also taught me a lot of crucial life lessons. I have learned humility, the importance of being humble and good to people. It has taught me the value of family and true friendships. And that I am incredibly lucky to be involved every single day, in something that I love so much.

5. Hardest Fight and why?

My second fight was definitely the hardest. My opponent had a lot more experience than me and I was sort of thrown in the deep end. I didn’t back down though. That was the night that I learned that some girls definitely know how to hit you hard and it hurts haha!

6. How would you describe your self as a fighter?

Determined.

7. Do you have any special things you have to do on fight day?

Not really, I just try to stay relaxed and focused.

8. What is your favorite thing about being a fighter?10014590_10151924060317038_842104277_n

I love the challenges of fighting and getting ready for a fight. The anticipation. The adrenaline. The nerves. Knowing that on fight night anything could happen, but feeling so confident in your preparation. It’s the best!

9. What’s next for you in 2014?

I had a knee reconstruction a month ago, so at the moment I am just focusing on my rehab and making sure that when I can come back to full time training, my knee is strong. I’ll be out of full time training for about 6 months. When I first found out that I had to have surgery, I was devastated. However now I am really enjoying just focusing on staying mentally strong, and I know that when I come back to training, it will be with a renewed energy. Hopefully, if my knee heals up well, I’ll be able to fight again early 2015.

10. Any advice for anyone wanting to become a fighter?

Definitely find a gym that suits you and pick a good trainer that you can connect with. Your trainer should be someone that you can put all of your trust into. Someone you admire and respect. Knowing that your trainer is there giving you the right guidance and putting as much energy into your training as you are, can be the difference between being successful or not. Trust me, this was something I had to learn the hard way.

1891034_10151873161777038_1562583034_nAnyone you would like to Thank?

The biggest thank you goes to my partner Josh. He is always there for me, especially through weight cutting and I couldn’t do it without his support. Thank you to my trainer Azzatron Smith for always having my back and encouraging me to be the best I can be. My strength and conditioning trainer Tom Duggan PT. Shaggy King and everyone from Corporate Box gym for always supporting me no matter what. My sponsors Fight N Fit, Ringside Café and Bonita Fitness Wear. And my bestie Jessy Jess for all the tough love sparring sessions.

Please Check out these links to My Sponsors
https://www.facebook.com/ringsidecafebundamba
https://www.facebook.com/FIGHTNFITHQ?ref=hl
https://www.facebook.com/bonitafitnesswearau?fref=ts
https://www.facebook.com/corporateboxgym?fref=ts
https://www.facebook.com/thomas.duggan.9212?fref=ts

Interview By Natasha Sky Aug 2014, Photos supplied

Follow my Female fighter interviews & my journey as a Fighter (HERE)

Leave a Reply

