Natalie “The Storm” Edwards From Australia

Natalie”The Storm” Edwards

Australia
1926745_671978142860482_1621092559_n

Name: Natalie Edwards Age: 25 Gym: Westside Martial arts Fight record: 5F 3W 2L (Pro)

1. How long have you been training MuayThai & what made you want to become a fighter? I trained for a few years when I was younger just for the fitness but I stopped for a few years when I had my daughter. I’ve been back for just under a year now. When I started back I had no intention to fight, I just wanted to get fit again. But I always like to do everything to the full so when Abbas asked me if I wanted to start fighting it seemed like a great opportunity. I’m so glad that I decided to try it because I absolutely love it.

2. What has been your biggest challenge as a fighter? The biggest challenge has definitely been balancing training, work and having a family. In order for me to become a great fighter I need to train a lot, which means that I have less time with my family and that can be really hard.

1509697_655952137796416_2057928044_n3. What’s the hardest thing you have ever done in training? I can’t think of one session in particular but certainly the weeks leading up to my title fight last week were pretty tough.

4. If you could fight on any promotion in the world what would it be & Why? I would love to fight on another one of Sy Nadji’s shows. I fought at Road to Rebellion 2 last year and it’s been my most enjoyable fight experience so far. He certainly knows how to put on a great Muay Thai event.

5. What are people reactions when you tell them you’re a fighter? Most people are very shocked when I tell them I’m a fighter. Everyone is always asking how such a bright and bubbly person could want to hit another person. But to me it’s just a sport; it has nothing to do with the kind of person you are. You’re one person out of the ring and someone completely different in the ring.

6. Do you work full time? How do you fit your Training into your day? Yes, I work full time as a 1621780_657804780944485_2139620142_nprimary school teacher. For my Muay Thai training I go straight from work and train for few hours before I head home. I also run a lot and do weights on the other days. It’s not easy fitting it all in but I love fighting so I do what I can.

7. Who inspires you? My biggest inspiration is definitely my trainer Abbas Ahmadi. Knowing how much he has sacrificed and all he has done to get to where he is makes me realise that you can achieve anything if you want it bad enough.

8. What are your plans for the rest of the year, do you have any fights lined up? It looks as though I’m going to have a busy year fighting, which is very exciting. I’ve been asked to fight on a few shows but nothing is 100% confirmed at this stage.

1382206_678868475504782_1324869153_n9. What are your goals in Muay Thai? Personally, as long as I keep improving and be the best I possibly can I would be happy with that. Obviously, I would love to become a title holder one day but to me that’s not the most important thing. I would also love to fight internationally at some stage.

10. Any advice for anyone wanting to start training or have a fight? Do what you love and do it with people who are going to support you. Whether you are training to get fit or training to fight it is really important to have positive and supportive people around you. Fighting especially is largely a mental game. The people around you need to support you and believe in you so that you can believe in yourself.

I would like to thank my sponsors Black and Blue, Global Data Pty Ltd and M & R O’Donnell Transport for their ongoing support. A special thank you to Abbas Ahmadi for pushing me to be the best I can an always believing in me. His unconditionally support has made me the fighter I am.1488803_678868285504801_1775090799_n

http://blackandblue.com.au/

http://www.globaldata.net.au/

Follow Nat on her journey on her fighters page

Nat ‘The Storm’ Edwards 

Interview By Natasha Sky, June 2014, Photos supplied.

Follow my Muay Thai journey, Blog and Interviews (HERE)

Leave a Reply

