Marilyn 55Kg Fighter From Singapore

 

Marilyn From Singapore1779694_626963007371546_1534418227_n

Name: Marilyn Age: 33 Gym: Santai Muay Thai Thailand weight: 55kg Fight record: 8-6-0 Country: Singapore

1. How long have you been training Muay Thai and what made you want to become a fighter? I stumbled upon Muay Thai late 2008 and was doing it recreationally for a couple of years before deciding that I will like to fight. Had my first fight in 2011 under Sinbi Muay Thai. I guess it is some sort of natural progression in my case as it does get boring after a while just training with no specific goals in mind.

2. What has been your biggest challenge as a fighter? Trying to balance training and having a job/enough savings to feed this addiction. Hehe. The reality is that in many cases it is an either or situation; have time and energy to train (in Thailand) vs earning and saving enough to train but forgo quality full time fight training (back in Singapore).

1958144_688391924533407_1892366173_n3. Who has been your inspiration? For me, it’s the people whom I encounter that inspires the most. There have been various sources of inspiration at different points of my Muay Thai journey. Among these role models are the boss of MTTC in Jakarta, Mr Endy Nahan, Sinbi Taewoong in the South at Sinbi Muay Thai and currently, Mr Nik and his team of trainers in the North at Santai Muay Thai, especially the twin trainers Kru Lop and Kru Phon.

4. What has been the most exciting thing Muay Thai has done for you? Muay Thai has made me do what may be common but is uncomfortable and unthinkable among my rather pragmatic fellow countrymen and women, which is to quit my job without a proper one lining up certainly for me to pursue the notoriously shortlived thrills of being and fighting in the ring. Muay Thai has also scarred me for life (literally :P) but with that made me a better and wiser fighter and person in general.

 

5. Do you have a favourite pair of shorts you just cant live without?… nope… shorts are shorts… as 1235097_10151954848013974_204887701_nlong as the elasticity of the rubber band’s not loose, they are good.

 

6. Your toughest fight and why?
Can I highlight 3? 😛
1) 2nd fight, first lost, it’s like the first breakup. July 2012. Rd4 tko.Totally out-classed by a tall lanky fighter, learnt to hate the push kicks and head punches.
2) 8th fight, referee stoppage Rd 2. 6th Jan 2014. Cut by an elbow slash, 6 stitches, when I was scarred for life. Heh heh…
10176151_646941742040339_8130280942885099179_n3) 13th fight, lost on points. 11th April 2014. Faced current WBC Asia Light Flyweight Champion Rika Matsumoto. Didn’t know she was a hotshot or that she just received the best WBC Female Muay Thai Champion Award just before the fight. Only read about it after the event. Had 2 very close rounds, almost caused an upset but experience won her the 3rd round. Was worried during the fight that she might have cut me open as I received tons of elbows from her. But trainers said that I did good and had improved from the previous fights, so it was all good.

 

7. How do people react when you tell them your a fighter?
Usually with  of their eyes and mock shock or fear. But I tend not to tell people that, other people tend to volunteer that information for me. 🙂
The best reaction I had when I was in Indonesia was “Wow, you don’t look (act) like a fighter.” That was before I started kicking the bags.

 

8. What have you got lined up for the rest of 2014?209529_161767883883579_570710_o

More training in Thailand before heading back home to work and hopefully another stint at the end of the year:P. Hope to train and fight at least 3 more fights and preferably more. One of 2014′s resolution’s to have 10 fights, I am currently at no. 7.

9. If you could fight on any promotion what would it be and why?
Honestly I don’t keep track on the promotions out there. If there are opportunities, I will consider and go for it.

 

10. Any advise to anyone wanting to have their first fight?
There is no shortcuts, stick to the basics. Hard, honest conditioning, eat well, rest enough and listen to your trainers and do what needs to be done accordingly. Most importantly, have fun and learn to laugh at yourself. Your first fight should be your worst performing fight in your career. 🙂

 

I compete not to prove my strength, but to improve my weaknesses…
1969111_688390411200225_1507693282_n

 

Interview By Natasha Sky, May 2014 Photos from Facebook
Follow Natasha Sky and My Muay Thai Journey and Interviews (HERE)
Leave a Reply

