Melissa ‘’Minnie’’ Anderson, Australian Champ

Melissa ‘’Minnie’’ Anderson1796706_1445886472310412_991384784_n

Australia 

Name: Melissa ‘’Minnie’’ Anderson Weight: 63kg Gym: Sunshine Coast Thai Boxing Centre Age: 31 Fight record: 14-0 with 1KO Titles: Current WMC Australian Champion

1.How long have you been training MuayThai, what made you want to become a fighter?

I have been training the art for years but not solid like I do now. First started out with my brother Skinny in 2004 and had my first fight in 2005. Had a break and now im right back into it. I fell in love with the sport watching my brother fight. Going to the old shows that my trainer Joe Hilton use to hold at the Ettamogah Pub. Such a great atmosphere made me want to jump in and give it a go.

1939769_1445978242301235_1481638039_o2. What has been your biggest challenge as a fighter?

Working fulltime out of Brisbane and living and training on the Sunshine Coast.. I stress everyday wondering if Im going to make it to training or work on time. Anyone who knows me knows I hate being late and hate missing training. People ask why don’t you move to Brisbane? I reply- why would I, I live on the beautiful Sunshine Coast.

3. What has been your biggest eye opener since becoming a fighter?

How much weight people can cut… Or I could cut. Luckily I don’t have to put myself through too much of 534097_1445888392310220_1107811274_nthat these days.

4. Did you have any myths you busted or proved true once you became a fighter?

Not that I can think of.

5. The question every beginner asks “does it hurt your shins”?

It hurt getting a massive hematoma drained off my shin. (Hahaha) Sometimes.. I never feel them in a fight though.

6. What’s the hardest thing you have ever done in training?

The last session before weigh in is always the hardest thing I do at training… I’m usually hungry, cranky and ready for a nice long sleep before fight night.

1970870_1445887332310326_504408413_n7. What’s the coolest move or combo you have pulled off in a fight?

Does that include punching the ref?? I accidentally gave bullet one on the chin in my second fight… Could not believe it. You should see the video. I didn’t know what to do. I love Bullet she is a champ.

8. What’s next for you in 2014?

Hopefully I make the Aussie Team for Malaysia. Then I would love to start getting a few more titles under my belt. I have just been putting a video together to send overseas for some International fights. I want to fight as much as I can this year.

9. Favourite songs to work out too?

Pursuit of happiness- KID CUDI – Walk out song Anything Pendulum I love working out to any music except Country.

10. Any advice to anyone wanting to have their first fight?1904168_1445886175643775_1670400780_n

Always the story.. the harder you train the luckier you become. Keep your hands up and try to listen to your corner- my brother always tells me this.

Anyone you would like to thank?

My trainer Joe.. he has put a lot of time into me.. I was a Gumby when I went to his gym. My husband Joel, how this man puts up with me? My family who come and support my every fight. Kelly my niece even flew to Perth to watch me. She has not missed a fight. My sponsors Total Sports Nutrition, Pretty Glamorous, Hands of Vitality and goodMIX, for helping me out every way possible.

https://www.facebook.com/TSN.Australia1625601_1445887032310356_610863422_n

https://www.facebook.com/goodmixbreakfast

https://www.facebook.com/Pretty.Glamorous.Mooloolaba

Follow Melissa On Facebook (HERE)

Interview By Natasha Sky, March 2014, photos supplied

Please check out my other Female fighter Interviews (HERE) 

Follow Me at Natasha Sky Fight Page (HERE)

Leave a Reply

