MuayThai and Motherhood, Can we do it?

Some people act like having a baby is the end of their life & doing the things they want to do. I know i often wonder if i will be able to do both when i decide to have children, well the main reason i havent had children is because im so scared of not being able to do both. Not all mothers are like that, we can see how having a baby will not stop you from following your dreams! If you want it bad enough you can do it. Here I speak with some mothers of Muay Thai and find out how these amazing ladies juggle being a mum and a fighter.

Name: Chantel Jones539621_10151533068651077_1302898920_n Age: 37.5 Weight: 48kg  Gym: True Grit Thai Boxing Fight record: 4F 1 D 3 W Titles: None

1. How many children do you have and how old are they?

I have 2 children,a boy who is almost 13 and my daughter is almost 11.

2. Did you have children before you started training and fighting or did you have them in the middle of it all?

My kids were just babies when i started out.

1452180_10151980281831077_679182140_n3. What do you think is the biggest challenge juggling mother hood and fighting?

Having the meals prepared in time would have to be the hardest part.

4. Whats a typical daily routine for you with your kids and training?
Early am-teach early birds class at gym, Go home-get kids ready for school, Drive 1 hour to training at 1 gym, go to next gym for weights, drive 1 hour home, Take 1-2 PT clients before getting kids from school, Settle kids at home with snack and homework, head to gym for work for a few hrs, Home after work at night to feed kids dinner and go over homework, Write up all classes/PT’s, BED

Name: Narelle Leahey Age: 39 Weight: 55kg1743146_10202338395495389_509602551_n Gym: Street Smart Thai Boxing Center Fight record: 27f 22w 5l Titles: 1x East Coast, 1x QLD, 5x Australia, 2x South Pacific, 1x World

1. How many children do you have and how old are they?

2 Kids they are Jaden who is 16 and Tarley who is 14

1743165_10202338395335385_380819904_n2. Did you have children before you started training and fighting or did you have them in the middle of it all?

I had the kids before I started training that’s how I got into Muay Thai in the first place to get ride of all the baby fat.

3. What do you think is the biggest challenge juggling mother hood and fighting?

It’s not to bad now because the kids are getting old enough now to fend for themselves but in the earlier days it was hard juggling their schooling and spending time with them because Muay Thai takes a lot of your time.

4. Whats a typical daily routine for you with your kids and training?1624332_10202338395455388_131130545_n

When they were in primary school it would be training in the morning then come home and get them ready for school making lunches get them dressed etc then go to work come home get their tea prepared before afternoon training then after training make sure there feed and bathed and then I helped them with their home work. Now its a bit easier training in the morning come home get my son up for work, go to work come home get tea prepared my daughter now trains with me in the afternoons come home and feed them and get my daughter to do her homework.

Name: Sarah Manthey Age: 29 Weight: 62kg Gym: Booma Thai Gym Toowomba  Fight record: 1f 1l64634_10152054203078999_126043614_n Titles: None.

1. How many children do you have and how old are they?

I have 5 children they are 10, 9, 6, 5 and 3.

2. Did you have children before you started training and fighting or did you have them in the middle of it all?

I had my children before I started training and I was looking for a fun way to get toned and lose weight, my partner was training at Booma Thai so I decided to join him and I have loved ever since my first lesson.

1912542_10152054204008999_1199508620_n3. What do you think is the biggest challenge juggling mother hood and fighting?

Finding the time to train especially in our household as both my partner and I train and fight. I like to include my kids in my training, my partner has recently set up a mini gym in the shed for us so I will take the kids in and do some work with them and try to get them to join in.

4. Whats a typical daily routine for you with your kids and training?

Well after the school run I like to do a run and just do general housework and run errands. I train Tuesday, 1690468_10152054204698999_1192246729_nThursday and either Friday or Saturday morning. I have recently taken up BJJ and MMA and I am about to make my MMA debut this Saturday coming so I have been training quite a lot and the kids have not liked it so much as they miss mummy time.

So to all you ladies out there wondering if its possible it looks like it is! it looks like it will be hard but these ladies make it work 🙂

Follow My Muay Thai Journey On my Facebook Athlete Page (HERE)

Natasha Sky- Professional Muay Thai Fighter

7 thoughts on “MuayThai and Motherhood, Can we do it?

  1. Awesome to see what other Mums are doing. Although I feel a bit out of it – I am 39years old and 70kg (everyone is so small in Muay Thai). One day I will get a fight!!
    Thanks for sharing your stories all you wonderful women!!!

  2. I’m a single mum with 4 year old princess. Of course it’s incredibly hard, but i think if Muya Thai beats in your heart, u will find a way to do it. U will create your own training routine. My “free”times for trainings are very different from classes in my gym,so not always i can join classes. But my gym created FB for fighters, were i can ask trainers or training partners to hold pads for me, sparring or just to join for sprint runs. It is important to open up, so people can help you and they will:)
    Good luck to all mums, i think we have a biggest motivation then any other fighter. Xxxx

  3. Thanks for sharing this story, I am 35yrs old with a 1year old who was born 3 months premature. I had 1 fight before I got pregnant then made it my goal to fight 6months after having baby. I lost 23kg to get to 56kg and achieved my goal of getting in the ring. Although it’s hard to fit everything in you just do it cause you know how good it feels 🙂

  4. This is great news and great to hear mothers are still doing Muay Thai after kids and fighting. I’m nearly 38 years old with 3 young kids and 3 months pregnant still training. I trained at Olsen Muay Thai Factory in Perth and Oliver Olsen is my husband & trainer. After baby #4 will get back to Muay Thai and train hard again hope to fight one day at 48kg. I love Muay Thai and is my Life, is good for your soul! Regards,
    Ming Olsen

Leave a Reply

