Sarah Rankin NZ/ Aussie Fighter

Sarah Rankin542684_547555638611038_1617186666_n

Name: Sarah Rankin  Age: 27 Weight: 51kg Gym: Prophecy Fight Centre Fight Record: 9F 5W 4L 2KO   Titles: Former NZ Bantam weight Champion

1. How long have you been training Muay Thai and what made you want to become a fighter?

Ive been training for about 5 or 6 years now on and off. I had wanted to get into some sort of combat sports for a long time then the opportunity came up to get into Muay Thai. Once I started training I wanted to start fighting.

2. What is the hardest part of being a fighter for you?

The hardest part for me has been getting match ups for fights and juggling work with training.

40166_139601842739755_7672803_n3. You have fought and trained in Thailand what are your favorite things about that?

Oh Gosh that’s a hard one. I love everything about Thailand! If I could I would be there right now. I plan on going back to Thailand soon and hopefully staying for a while to get some more fights under my belt.

4. If you could fight on any promotion what would it be?

I don’t really know. Total Carnage would be awesome haha The crowd there is crazy.

5. Your hardest fight and why?

It would have to be against Kim Townsend for the South Pacific title. It was my 2 title fight and it went the distance. I lost by Split decision, it was a solid fight. Kims a tough chick. I just didn’t have the fitness in the last round.

6. Do you have any special things you do before you fight? Nah nothing special, I just like to try to chill out 166343_174071475959458_2238576_nand relax

7. What do you think would help female Muay Thai grow around the world?

Just having more females get into the sport

8. Any embarrassing moments?

Hahaha No embarrassing moment s yet but im sure something will happen sooner or later.

9. What is next for you?

I’m fighting Lorryn williams on 26th October for WMC QLD Bantam weight title. And then I’ll just see what happens after that.

72518_625607330805868_1636668618_n10. Any advise you would give to anyone starting Muay Thai and wanting to fight? Just train hard so that when you get in the ring you know you’ve done everything possible to be ready.

I like to thank My Partner/Trainer Garth and Frank Giorgi for putting up with all my crap and pushing me passed the limits with my training. Thanks to Paul Demicoli for trying to get me matched up. He’s had his job cut out for him haha He’s been so supportive of me since I moved to Australia. And thanks to the crew and Prophecy for the ongoing support.

Interview By Natasha Sky Photos supplied.

Follow Natasha Sky Fight Page

400250_328591147174156_1512089708_n

Leave a Reply

