Meryem Uslu IMC World Champion from Germany

Meryem Uslu

215024_231454360224766_4602912_nGermany

My name is Meryem Uslu, i am 26 years old. I am living in Hamburg- Germany but coming originally from Turkey. I have 43 fights – 35 wins- 8 losses – 14Ko I am fighting for Xite Fighting Gym, training with my coach Lutz Burmester. I am IMC World Champion and IPTA European Champion. Also win many national Title. Fighting Muaythai, K1 Rules and Kickboxing.

1. How long have you been training Muay Thai and what made you want to fight?

I am training since 7 years. I came with a karate background, reach the black belt and decide to make some Muaythai fights, so I started with Muaythai.  After 3 Months I step for my first fight into the ring and Won.

281538_10151078827105952_612135234_n2. What has been your biggest challenge as a female fighter?

I see every training and every fight as a big challenge, so I try always train my mental strength because i hate it to lose . But I think my biggest challenge was to proof my training partners, family and friends that a women can do Muaythai and a women can fight.

3. Who has been your hardest fight and why?

It is difficult to say, I have many many hard fights 🙂 But my hardest fight was against a girl from Holland, she was very fast and has hard punches. She knocked me down with a right hook in the second round. It was my first knockdown in my career. I stand up, fight back and won this fight via TKO in round four.

4. What do you think is the most important to remember as a fighter?27225_100569339979936_1396879_n

To be a good fighter and a good champion you must be respectful  And follow your teachers rule.

5. What reaction do you get from people when you tell them you’re a fighter?

At the first time they don’t take me serious, some people make jokes because i am a very short girl they can’t imagine me as a fighter but when they saw me at the training or at a fight they are very impressed.

6. Any embarrassing moments?

No 🙂

483588_4453575090609_438923151_n7. What are your plans for 2013?

My plans are working harder and get better. I hope to get some interesting fight offer this year.

8. You recently won a world title, how did that feel?

I work really hard for it and fought so many world class girls in my career. My world title means a lot for me, because I think after 43 matches and 35 wins and some really hard fights –  I earn it.

396976_10151195103473105_1649841372_n

9. Favourite after weigh in meal?

I love Burger  🙂

10. Any advise for females wanting to start Muay Thai or have a fight?

Have fun and enjoy the time you train or fight. Muaythai is an exciting journey.

Any last words? Or people you would like to thank?

I thank my coach Lutz Burmester, he is a great person, a great coach and I am very proud be his fighter. Also thank my Teammates they are awesome training partners.

Check out Meryem’s Facebook Fan page (HERE)

Interview by Natasha Sky Feb 2013, Photos from Facebook

Leave a Reply

