Dina Sokol WKA Western Australian champ

Dina Sokolimage_1361513944395488

Australia

Dina Sokol, 24yrs old, Grew up in Texas but have been living in Perth Australia for 6 years. Fight weight 58-60kg 12 fights-10 wins-2 loss, Current Western Australian WKA State title holder, Training out of Riddlers Gym in Perth

1. How long have you been training Muay Thai and what made you want to fight? I’ve been training for almost 5 years now… Started training for a bit of fitness after moving to Australia and loved it so pushed myself to train for a fight 🙂

2. You have trained and fought in Australia and Thailand how do you compare the two? and which one do you prefer?

I really enjoy fighting in Thailand… It feels less stressful than fights back home…I think it’s because you don’t have to worry about your job or day to day activities and then fighting…in Thailand its just eat, sleep, train and fight. Although being able to sleep in my own bed and cook my own food back home is something I miss when prepping for a fight.

image_13615140093677813. What is next for you in 2013?

I’m looking forward to a big year for 2013. I have been training with Darren at Riddlers gym for 9 months now and feel my skills and overall fitness level has really improved so hoping to fight some more experienced girls and hopefully add titles to my record.

4. Hardest fight and why?

My hardest fight would have to be against Leonie Macks from Sydney. We have had 2 back to back fights and they were full on from round one…she has really strong punches and isn’t afraid to throw some elbows. Had lots of fun fighting her and no doubt we will fight again 🙂

5. Favourite Muay Thai weapon?

I love kicks! Any kind… Push kicks, leg kicks, head kicks all of itimage_1361513903946605

6. What are your goals as a fighter?

My goals as a fighter is to be the best….prove myself as both a technical fighter and strong opponent. There are so many amazing girl fighters around but you never really hear of the names… I want people to know my name in female Muay Thai in Australia and around the world 🙂

8. How do you deal with pre fight nerves?

Before a fight I always watch my favourite movies…usually really cheesy ones but they always seem to calm my nerves… (Example: Kickboxer with Van Dam lol)  I just try not to focus too much on the fight…I know I trained my hardest and go into the fight feeling prepared.

image_13615140414723639. What do you think would help promote more female Muay Thai in Australia?

I think we are on the right track at the moment…keeping people in the loop of females fighters through Caley Reece’s Facebook page… It’s hard promoting a combat sport to girls but we should make sure girls are aware of the amazing fitness aspect of training Muay Thai even if you don’t want to jump in the ring

10. Any advise you would like to give to any females wanting to start training or fighting?

DO IT! Once you realise how far you can push your body physically and mentally it’s hard to imagine doing any other sport… And Muay Thai is one sport where you can travel to one of the mot beautiful countries in the world and get some of the best training aka THAILAND 🙂 it’s a pretty good reason to travel and stay fit 🙂

Any last words? or people you would like to thank?

I hope girls every where try Muay Thai if not to fight just for the experience its my life now and I image_1361513882322330wouldn’t change it 🙂

I want to thank Darren and all the trainers at Riddlers couldnt choose a better second home! And my sponsor Verve Chiropractor because they take care of my body so I can smash on for many years to come 🙂

Watch Dina Fight (HERE)

Interview by Natasha Sky Feb 2013

Leave a Reply

