Jaimie “The Terror” sherer

Jaimie Sherer207435_10150137919554452_21693_n

Hi my name’s Jaimie “The Terror” Sherer, I’m 23 years old fighting out of Colonel’s Muay Thai in Melbourne. My preferred fight weight is under 52kg however I’ve fought mostly between 53.5-55.5kg due to lack of opponents with similar experience. I’ve had 10 fights and currently hold the 51.5kg IKBF Victorian title and am preparing for a WMC 51.5kg Vic title on March 15.

1. How long have you been training Muay Thai and what made you want to fight? All up about 18 months, although I’m just getting back from a knee and Achilles injury which saw me miss most of last year.

I had my first fight before I started serious training. I had been learning MMA and BJJ, and was thinking about doing an interclub (padded, semi-contact) fight to get better at my stand up. Then I was told that a promoter was after a female around my weight for a fight night in a week’s time, due to one of the girls pulling out. I figured I may as well give it a go, I had nothing to lose and the worst that could happen was I got knocked out, and if I did get KO’d I wouldn’t remember it! I lost that fight in a split decision, and decided to give it another go with some preparation.

310747_10150288461299452_7976071_n2. Biggest challenge as a female fighter?
Getting the crowd interest. I fought as the main event in Sydney once, and whilst there were hundreds in the crowd to begin with, by the time my fight was up there were about 30 people watching. You could pretty much hear crickets! So I prefer fighting mid-card as the crowd is still there, but it’s a shame the appreciation for female Muay Thai isn’t there yet.
3. Proudest moment?
Winning my first fight! After four straight decision losses I won my first Muay Thai fight in Thailand against a Thai. And I’d just come out of hospital with bad food poisoning two days earlier, but I wasn’t going to miss this opportunity! That was definitely a highlight for me 🙂

185953_246604155460195_858363213_n4. Your currently training in Thailand have you had any fight there? if so what do you find different to fighting Aussie girls?
Yes I had one fight here first time around, and I’m having another one this coming Wednesday 13th Feb. As with most Thai’s, you notice the focus is on the technique and power, and kicks over punches. They also start slow, which I struggle with cause I get too excited…

5. Any embarrassing moments?
Not that I can think of from Muay Thai (yet!), but when I did Karate as a kid I accidentally kicked my teacher square in the knackers in front of everyone. I was so embarrassed I even had a little teary! 206148_10151348003909452_686601279_nhaha.

6. Favourite after weigh in meal?
Nothing too exciting, I want to make sure I’m fuelled the best for the next day – lots of water and some electrolytes to hydrate, some fruit and muesli bars to get the energy back in and then a meat and three veg type dinner.

7. Do you have any things you just have to do before you fight ?
I don’t have any superstitions, but I generally try to remain as calm as possible until the warm-up, otherwise I use up all my energy on being nervous!

8. Whats your Favourite Muay Thai weapon?
Gotta be the elbows, wouldn’t be Muay Thai without them!
205813_10150152516534452_7429977_n

9. Hardest Fight and why?
They’ve all been hard and 8 of them have gone the distance, but probably my fight against Sylvia Scharper for the Victorian WMC title, which she won UND. I’d say that’s my best fought fight as well, and it was elbows galore! She broke my nose with a nice knee in the fourth too, and it has never been the same again… Thanks Sylv! 😉

10. Any advise for any females wanting to train or fight Muay Thai?
Just get in there! It’s not as hard as it looks, and is the ultimate sport to develop yourself through physical strength, mental strength and spirituality as well if you are interested in that aspect.
Any last words or people you would like to thank? All my past and present martial arts instructors, my coach David “The Colonel” Dowdeswell for taking me on this awesome journey, my boyfriend Dan Townsend for being so supportive and my mates out there who support me, cheers guys!

Interview By Natasha Sky Feb 2013 Photos from Facebook

3 thoughts on “Jaimie “The Terror” sherer

  1. You could certainly see your enthusiasm in the article you write.
    The arena hopes for more passionate writers like
    you who aren’t afraid to mention how they believe.
    At all times go after your heart.

Leave a Reply

