Hannah Taufan From Australia

Hannah Taufan

166181_497618764010_7098149_nQueensland, Australia

Age: 23
Gym: Strikeforce
Weight: 53-57kg
Reccord: 8 wins (2tko) 5 losses

I live on the Gold Coast, originally from Sydney I study and work full time. I have been training with Strikeforce for 3 years under Mark Pease. I have fought at a variety of weights usually above my preferred weight of 54kgs. I have been lucky enough to fight in Hong Kong and China. This year I hope to win a title, as I have had two closely scored fights with Casey Walters (Aus. title) and Kellie Newport (WBC Qld title). I hope to get a rematch with both at some stage.

1. How long have you been training Muay Thai and what made you want to fight? 

I’ve been training for 3 years fighting for two. I originally tried boxing but i couldn’t punch to save my self and the Muay Thai gym was next door so i jumped ship and never looked back. I wanted to fight because i was told girls shouldnt fight from my first gym. So i thought F*** you and found a new gym and had my first fight a few months later.

166869_497619379010_4469469_n2. Hardest fight and why?

Hardest fight was probably against Junko Maski in Hong Kong she punched like a truck and i got pretty sick before and after. She is the most experienced fighter i have fought.

3. Whats been your biggest challenge as a fighter?

My hardest challenge is my nerves/ pressure and believing in my self, i have serious self confidence issues sometimes as a fighter. I can train the house down but if my heads not in the right place on the night its all over.

4. What drives you to fight?

I love the adrenalin you get when the first kick is thrown and you know it’s hurting but you can’t feel a thing. Also the feeling you get after a fight, you just cant help it, win lose or draw, all you want to do is get back in there as soon as you can. I love this sport, I 310381_2251401357197_1030349756_nlove the training, it is a mixture of physical and mental challenges that ive never got from any other sports. I fight not to please any one else, i do it because it makes me happy and i love it.

5. Embarrassing moments?

I’m always running into things or falling over when i go for runs and its usually on the main road so everyone can see…. its AWESOME!

6. Favourite weapon in Muay Thai?167188_497618929010_943719_n

The grapple and knees

7. If you could fight anyone who would it be?

Haha at the moment a rematch with Kellie Newport

8. What do you think is the most important thing to remember as a fighter?

Be humble, never bad mouth other fighters or gyms.

9. Any advise for other females wanting to have a fight?

Get in there and fight even if its only once! It’s the best fitness and you learn so much about who you are as a person. If you commit enough you will get so much more than just physical rewards. It’s so good to see so many girls out there fighting now.

69598_608169162535268_302065621_n

10. Any last words or people you would like to thank?

I want to thank my trainer for putting up with my shit. And thanks Tash for making Facebook more interesting. YEWWWWW!

Interview By Natasha Sky Jan 2013 Photos from Facebook

Leave a Reply

