Interview with Sylvia Scharper WMC Victorian Champ

Sylvia Scharper  

WMC Victorian Champ             526712_476833939027124_863779695_n

1. How long have you been doing Muay Thai and what made you start?

About 7 years now. I have always been a bit of a violent soul and I always wanted to do some form of combat sports but played soccer most of my life. I never thought anything would make me hang up the soccer boots but I was however interested in doing some combat sports twice a week for fun. A friend took me to the Thai fights one night and I was just in awe. I just loved the style and particularly the elbows and thought – ‘I need to be learning this!’ Eventually it just took over my life!!

2. You have had boxing fights as well what do you like the most and why?

I love both! I love the art and culture of Muay Thai and the range of weapons but at the same time I love the challenge of only having one weapon in boxing.

3. You just defended your WMC State title how did that feel?

Felt great. I hadn’t fought or trained in Thai for over a year, so it was definitely a big challenge preparing for that bout. Also living circumstances made it very difficult for me to get down to my Thai gym but I am very lucky to have a great support network. Both my Thai and boxing trainers, and people at each gym, really helped me across the line in my preparation. It had always been important to me to defend that title so it was great to get the win and it was also a great way to end the year!

293678_222192431165304_1371399_n4. You’re a short ass 🙂 how do you find that in your fights and what do you try to work on to make the most of it?

Annoying I often feel like my older brother is holding me by the head again ha-ha! I just try to work on closing the gap, using angles and being light on my feet – but I have a LONG way to go! I am aiming to make 51kgs my new fight weight this year because even at 53kg the girls are avatars.

5. What has been your biggest challenge as a fighter?

My biggest challenge has honestly being trying to find a way to balance my crazy life. I have a pretty hectic life with a family, working full-time in comms & marketing, freelance writing, as well as studying.

I must say that the last year has been fantastic in that it is the first time I have had a job which is always 9am-5pm. Plus, they are incredibly supportive of my fighting. Having a job where the hours are consistent has made a massive difference because I can always get to training. As a result, I have had a great year in terms of my overall fitness, weight and training. So, I am now finally, after all these years in the sport, in a position to be able to really dedicate myself to training and fighting consistently!

68723_1624874907688_7837343_n

6. Your hardest fight?

Honestly, my hardest fight was against the least talented opponent I have faced in my short career. It was against a Thai bar girl and she was pretty terrible but I was messed up from a horrible ear infection. I was in agony and spent the entire fight with my left-hand protecting my ear. I tried to kick but had no balance. So, I basically fought with my right-hand. It was my last chance to fight before returning to Oz so I took it and won but it wasn’t a good time. Lucky she was bad or I would have been in some serious trouble ha-ha. It was my hardest fight though mentally and physically!

7.What are you goals as a fighter?

I want to go the whole hog and I am finally in a position to really try. It would be better if I was a full-time fighter but that’s never going to happen unless I win lotto ha-ha. So, I am just going to work hard over the next few years to fight as much as possible in both boxing and Thai boxing and see how far I can go! I just want to improve, learn and…win

8. Is there anyone out there you would like to fight? 248874_469169896457617_650713316_n

No one in particular –any of the girls around the 51-53kg mark! I just want to be active and evolve as a fighter and the only way to do that is to fight!

9. What advice would you give to anyone wanting to start Muay Thai or even fight?

Prepare for the greatest addiction of your life. It will test you physically and mentally like nothing you have experienced but once it has found it’s way into your life you’ll never be able to live without it!!

10. Do you have anything you would like to say or people you would like to thank??

Just want to say thanks to Carl Drapper and all my peeps at Hangar 4 as well as Dave Hegarty and all my peeps at Tarneit Boxing. I am very lucky to have great trainers and training partners.

I also want to thank my sponsors Synergy Hypnotherapy http://synergyhypnotherapymelbourne.com.au/ and Havokk Clothing www.havokkclothing.com for their wonderful support!!

151008_10151206543448889_578280525_n

1957591_686092624765886_2135812621_n

CLICK HERE!! Ladies Fight wear!!

 

 

 

Interview By Natasha Sky January 2013 Photos from facebook

Leave a Reply

